Bulleen Cricket Club - A Short History

Bulleen Cricket Club was formed in July 1960 when twenty-five foundation members met for the first time. With council assistance the club developed its home ground at Koonung Park, Bulleen. Initially a matting ground Koonung Park was redeveloped into a turf ground in 1975. In 1982 the center wicket area was expanded to eight wickets making Koonung Park arguably one of the best turf grounds in the association.  

From 1960 to 1974 Bulleen played in the Box Hill Reporter District Cricket Association (BHRDCA). The club had immediate success with the 1st XI winning the B grade premiership. In 1975 Bulleen joined the Eastern Suburbs Cricket Association (ESCA) and again had immediate success with both the 1st and 2nd XIs winning the B and D grade turf premiership respectively. In 1977/78 Bulleen won the A turf premiership and was promoted to Senior Turf (Dunstan Shield) in the following season. Additionally our thirds and fourths played in the Metropolitan Cricket League between 1979 & 1985.

The 1990’s saw possibly the most successful period for the club. During this time Bulleen contested five Senior Turf (Dunstan Shield) grand finals wining three premierships. It also won the Super 8’s competition in 1998/99. During this period three Bulleen players won Dunstan medals. 



The mid 1990s also saw the innovation of overseas players playing at Bulleen. The club was fortunate to have quality players such Graeme Angus, who took 57 wickets and won a Dunstan Medal, and Paul Collingwood, who went onto play District cricket for Richmond winning a Ryder Medal as well as representing England in One Day Internationals and more recently in the Tests.



Bulleen owes much of its on field success to two great Captain/Coaches. These are Max McColl and Greg Knight. Max had two stints as Captain/Coach from 1974 – 1981 and then 1987 – 1993 winning four 1st XI Premierships. Greg was Captain/Coach 1993 -2002 and won three 1st XI Premierships all in Senior Turf (Dunstan Shield).


Individual players have won more than 40 association awards including five winners of the Dunstan Medal. These are Paul Dakis, Greg Knight (twice), Dean Humphrey, Graeme Angus and Clint Hillas.



At it’s peak the Club fielded six senior sides and six junior sides. Today the club fields three senior turf sides, a one day senior side, a veterans side and eight junior sides. With the growth of the senior club and the current emphasis on junior development the long term future of the club looks bright.